5 Underrated YA Reads

a

In today’s post I want to talk about a few young adult books I think deserve more attention. One of the reasons I decided to join the book community was so that I could share my love of books, especially those that don’t always get to be in the spotlight. So today I decided it was time I brought to you five hidden gems that I think should be on everyone’s TBR.

1. Cracked (Soul Eaters #1) by Eliza Crewe

qDo you ever get tired of the goody-goody two shoes that seem to always be at the center of ya? Are you in dire need of a well written book whose focus is the ‘bad guy’? Well, if that’s the case, look no more. I’ve got you covered.

Meda Melange is trouble. As in she-eats-people kind of trouble. She’s a Soul Eater, but the thing is, she doesn’t know much about all this soul-eating business. Ever since her mother died she has been on her own, only worrying about who her next meal might be. Things suddenly change when other Soul Eaters start showing up. She thinks this is her best chance at understanding what she really is and, who knows, maybe even at learning a different way of living. Sounds kind of perfect, right? Wrong. It seems that they’re not so friendly after all and the only thing standing between them and Meda is the sudden appearance of the Crusaders, an elite group who dedicate their life to wiping out her kind. They are the good guys. Meda is not. So her only option is to lie low and play along until she’ll figure out what to do.

What could possibly go wrong? Read to find out!

2. The Naturals (The Naturals #1) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

qThis book is perfect for fans of Criminal Minds.

Seventeen-year-old Cassie has a gift, an incredible talent that gets her into a FBI classified program for teens with abilities like her own. They call her a profiler, a person who’s extremely skilled at reading people. With only a look at someone she can tell you who they are, what they do, where they come from. When she enters the program she is introduced to three teenagers who possess skills just as unusual as hers. There is Dean, a brooding boy, who shares her ability of reading people. Michael, whose gift is figuring out the most subtle of emotions by just looking at someone. And Lia, the human lie detector. Together they must uncover the secrets of a string of mysterious murders that seem to be connected. But first, they must manage to stay in the same room for five minutes without trying to kill each other.

3. Unraveling (Unraveling #1) by Elizabeth Norris

qThe clock is ticking and so I shouldn’t waste any more time with useless descriptions. All you have to know about this book is that it’s action-packed with a plot that will keep you on the edge of your seat the whole time and characters that will make this read unforgettable. Oh and did I mention that the world was ending?

Meet Janelle Tanner. Incredibly smart. Driven. Responsible. And dead. At least that’s how it should be, but then a mysterious boy from school ends up bringing her back to life and together they must find a way to stop the clock that seems to be ticking, counting down until Earth’s destruction.

4. Storm (Elemental #1) by Brigid Kemmerer

q‘Storm’ is all about elemental magic: earth, fire, air, water. And for each element there is a boy.

Becca Chandler didn’t think magic was real. That was until she met Chris, one of the four Merrick brothers. After she saves him from a beating in the school parking lot she is thrust in their world, a world full of secrecy and danger. It doesn’t help that her ex-boyfriend  spread all those rumours about her and brought her to the attention of every boy at her school. Add in Hunter, the mysterious new kid who seems to know more than he is letting on, and you have a perfect recipe for a disastrous storm.

5. Stolen Songbird (The Malediction Trilogy #1) by Danielle L. Jensen

qThe trolls think Cécile is their only chance at freedom.

Bound by a witch’s curse to live forever trapped under a mountain, the trolls have reached their tipping point and the one thing on their mind is breaking the curse. Cécile is thought to be the key to ending centuries of dark and so when they kidnap her there is no hesitation in their action.

Enthralled in a world she never knew existed, the one thing on Cécile’s mind is escape. But the trolls aren’t easily fooled. She is no match for their strength and cleverness and as she spends more time in their company, she realizes that maybe, just maybe, life with the trolls isn’t so bad.

The one thing that may not have been on either of their minds is the rebellion that is brewing deep inside the mountain. Cécile might not be, after all, their only chance at freedom.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “5 Underrated YA Reads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s