Reading Update {March 2017}

c5 copy

In March I read a total of four books. While this number may seem quite small compared to the average amount of books I read a month (which is eight), I’m very proud of myself and pleased with how this month went. I’ve finally started a series I avoided for a long time and I am madly in love with it already!

Here are the books I’ve read in March:

c

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, which I gave 4 β˜….

I went into this book with huge expectations and they weren’t exactly met. I expected something very different and yet I enjoyed this book until the last few pages. The ending is probably one of the most frustrating endings I’ve ever read and I desperately wish to change it. Things kept building up to what I thought would be a shocking twist or something of this sort, but no. I was just waiting and waiting, sure that something will happen soon and it never did. I didn’t even realize that the book actually ended until I turned the last page expecting the story to continue and got instead a blank page. I’m really disappointed because Gone Girl could have been easily a brilliant book if not for the last quarter of it. Overall, I enjoyed it, but not as much as I had been told I would.

 

After the disappointment that was Gone Girl, I decided that I needed something fresh to get my mind off it. With this thought in mind, I did something I never thought I’ll do anytime soon or ever: I picked up The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare.

c

I realize that I’m probably the last one to jump on this train, but I’m on board now. so that’s all that matters. These books didn’t catch my attention for the longest time. Yes, I knew about them, of course, because everyone and their mother pushed this series in my face all the time, but I’ve never been inclined to pick them up. If it weren’t for the show, there’s a great chance I wouldn’t have picked them up for the another ten years. Luckily, I did and I loved the first three books and the show and I can’t wait to read the other three and everything is great. Did I mention that I’m absolutely head over heels with all the characters? They are amazing and by far, my favorite part of the books. The show is pretty badass too and my new obsession.

I wanted to do a review for the first book, but I realized there is no point because again, everyone has already read it and all you would have heard in that review is me fangirling over how awesome is the Shadow World anyway. So I might do something else instead. I thought it would be nice if I did a ‘5 Reasons To Read The Mortal Instruments’ for those who are as stubborn as I was and wouldn’t hear any of this whole “Shadowhunters crap”. Who knows, maybe they’ll love it just as much as I did.

My favorite of the three was City of Bones, which I gave 4.5 β˜…. I gave both City of Ashes and City of Glass 4 β˜… and this series will certainly be added to my favorites shelf.

c6

c5

 

I’m currently reading Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon and I’m loving it so far. Expect a review soon!

 

 

 

 

c7

Making TBRs is not something I usually do because even if I did I’m certain I won’t follow them. I will however show you a few books that caught my eye and if there is anything in particular that you think I should read, let me know in the comments.

c

c

c

c

c

2 thoughts on “Reading Update {March 2017}

  1. Hmm maybe I should start reading TMI… like you I’ve just never really been interested before but everyone seems to love them so maybe I should give it a try! Also I love that you gave Gone Girl 4 stars even though you were disappointed- I like your optimism haha πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I think you should give TMI a chance! I know it’s not for everyone, but who knows, maybe you’ll like it. As for Gone Girl, yes I was very disappointed with the ending, but it was still a good book and I have to give credit where it’s due. I probably made it sound worse than it actually is haha. Now that you mentioned, I realized that I do tend to give books higher ratings, but that’s just how I am 😁.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

