What I’ve been up to in April: Books, Anime & More

April has been a fabulous month and I swear I’m not saying this just because of spring break (although it does play a big part. This month has been really productive, again also because I had a lot of time in my hands, and I managed to do a lot of the things I planned to. I managed to read nine books and I started the tenth, but there is no way that I can finish it (because surprise, surprise it’s the Iliad). I watched an anime and I’m close to finishing another and I finally got around to watching Logan (I didn’t cry!) and the live action remake of Beauty and the Beast.

I’ll talk about these last two things briefly, but if you’re not interested you can go ahead and skip to the book related part of this post which includes my April Reading Wrap Up + Mini Reviews & What I’m Currently Reading & my May TBR.

as1

So, let’s get straight to the subject. In April I finally got around to watching Tokyo Ghoul, which is quite popular and as you can imagine super hyped, but I’m happy to say it didn’t disappoint even the least. It was great. More than great actually. It was fantastic and awesome and over the top impressive with morally grey characters, strong conflicts and lots of action packed scenes with twist after twist. What else could you ask for? Overall, a great anime and I highly recommend it if you’re into anime and even if you’re not. Tokyo Ghoul is definitely a great place to start. In fact, I loved so much that I’m thinking of creating a tag based on it.

Then I moved on to Akame Ga Kill!, which I’d also been recommended a lot. I’m currently on episode 17 and I’m loving it so far. Not as much as Tokyo Ghoul, but still. It’s definitely a lot more funny and with less dark themes. All in all, I’m very pleased with how this month went as far as anime goes.

as copy.png

I went to see Beauty and the Beast later than I would have liked, but it was worth the wait nonetheless. Beauty and the Beast has had a special place in my heart ever since childhood and this version surely didn’t disappoint. The whole soundtrack is amazing and Emma Watson is such a talented actress. Highly recommend!

Logan is a whole different story. I liked it (because X-Men duh), but I feel that something was missing. All the great fight scenes that Jack Hughman has accustomed us to were still present, but I never got the whole X-Men vibe (maybe a little bit in the last scene). The plot was very confusing and lacking  and I felt no attachment toward the characters whatsoever. I have to admit though, the whole movie was shot very well and the acting was on point. I’m looking forward to what Marvel might come up in the future and curious about a possible new X-Men generation.

as.png

c5

 

The first book I read this month was Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon and since I did a review for this book, I won’t go into too much detail. I absolutely loved it and gave it 4.5✯. If you’re looking for a diverse book featuring illness, friendship, mother-daughter relationships and the sacrifices we have to make for love, then this one’s for you.

 

c

Then, in anticipation for The Beauty and the Beast movie I picked up Hunted by Meagan Spooner for which I also did a review. I gave this one 4.5✯ too and it quickly made itself a place on my favorite retellings shelf. It doesn’t stray too far away from the original fairytale, but it still managed to surprise me with a few unique twists. For one, this book takes place in a Russia-inspired setting and it has, beside the sweet romance, a touching sister bond and great father-daughter dynamics. I can’t recommend this book enough!

A little while after finishing Hunted I talked myself into continuing a classic that I started in March and that is on my required reading list for school, but I won’t go into detail because it hasn’t been translated into English. It was boring anyway :).

1

I picked up 26 Kisses by Anna Michels on a whim because I was in desperate need of something quick and easy. It was a 2.5✯ read for me and you can find my review here.

After that followed three more books and between watching Shadowhunters and Tokyo Ghoul, I didn’t have much time to write down my thoughts, so I’ll be doing mini-reviews now.

 

Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller (5✯)

1

1

 

I will start this review by saying that I loved this book. LOVED IT! It was by for the best from the whole bunch of april reads and it’s going to my favorites shelf without a doubt.

What is it about?

Pirates. Adventures. A thief. A secret map. And sirens. Mix these together with a whole lot of awesomeness and the result will basically scream Daughter of the Pirate King.

Why did I like it?

  • badass female character. Seriously, it’s been a long time since I felt this strong about a character. Alosa is something like a pirate Celaena Sardothien, but like ten times better. And funnier.
  • the humour. Man, this girl. Her wit and sarcasm reminded me a lot of Meda (Soul-Eaters Trilogy) and she came closer to Sevro (Red Rising, Pierce Brown), which is saying something. In fact, if I were to describe her, it would Sevro’s female version. She’s smart, stubborn, strong and loyal to her crew and family. We truly need more characters like her in ya fantasy.
  • the romance. Let’s talk about Riden. I wasn’t that impressed at first, but damn if these two didn’t have chemistry. Did I forgot to mention that this book has the enemy to lovers trope? There you go. A perfect recipe for your next favorite read. Go ahead and read this book and you can come thank me later.

Why didn’t I like it?

tenor

 

Ruined by Amy Tintera (3✯)

1.jpg

1

This was my first Amy Tintera book and I wasn’t exactly blown away. I did however enjoy it and I’ll be continuing with this series.

What I liked:

  • the plot. It was predictable, but still enjoyable. We have the usual rebels and the princess in disguise that has to kill the prince, but plot twist she doesn’t actually do it because, damn, isn’t he charming? (or maybe she does it who knows). Things get better as we move on from all the clichés and we get to see some pretty hardcore battles.
  • the writing style. Nothing in particular stood out, but it was succinct and eloquent, setting just the right pace for a fantasy novel.
  • the world was interesting, but again, nothing I haven’t seen before.

What I didn’t like:

  • the characters had no personality. They were driven by one thing and one thing only and nothing mattered beside that. I didn’t feel the chemistry between Em and Cas and the other characters were kind of meh.
  • the Ruined. We got no back story, no explanation, no nothing. What are the Ruined? What do they do? How did they come to be? I honestly couldn’t tell you.

An average read at most, but I’m curious to see how things play out after that cliffhanger.

 

Riders by Veronica Rossi (3.5✯)

1

1

I enjoyed this book, but I was a little bit let down. After the Under the Never Sky trilogy, Veronica Rossi’s previous work, my expectations were pretty high and not quite met. I still recommend this book though, because it has a killer concept and lots of action.

What I liked:

  • the premise. The story follows Gideon, one of the four horseman of the Apocalypse. Except he doesn’t know much about the Apocalypse. Or horses for that matter. Then, there’s this girl, Daryn, who has to guide  and help them to prevent the Kindred (demons) from finding a secret object that will help them destroy the human world as we know it. This concept is truly unique and something I haven’t heard of in ya before.
  • the way the story is told. Basically this story is told from the end to the beginning. Kind of. It’s really interesting and I think it would make a great movie. It certainly reads like one since it’s easy to imagine every scene as if you were there.

What I didn’t like:

  • the characters were realistic, but there was a certain distance between them and the reader and I wasn’t able to connect very well with them. Gideon is a cold, distant narrator and he focuses mainly on details, not emotions, so that’s probably the main reason I felt very detached as well.

The last two books I read and reviewed in April were The Problem with Forever (4.5✯) by Jennifer L. Armentrout and The Upside of Unrequited (3✯) by Becky Albertalli.


Currently Reading: We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

May TBR:

 


And because this post wasn’t long enough already I decided to throw in some shameless self-promo too. I made a bookstagram account. I only posted like two photos and I have absolutely no idea what I’m doing, but I’m having tons of fun. My username is @calypso_bookingdom, if you want to see my awesome photography skills (yeah sure). Or you can click the button in the sidebar. That’s all for today’s post. I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

